17
Mar
11

iQueue is down (updated)

For some reason, the format of something netflix sends the app changed recently.  For me, both the free and paid apps started crashing around noon today.

I have identified the problem and will submit a fix tonight.

Hopefully it will “change back”… but if not, the fix will be available in few days (Apple willing).

I apologize for the inconvenience.

Late Night Update (3/17): Looks like Netflix changed a lot of things today.  Fortunately, I’ve started some dialogue with them.  I’m hoping some things can be changed on their end.  However, it also looks like they broke some of the facilities to add movies.  I haven’t been able to get it to work in a couple of other apps either.  I was hoping to send Apple a fix tonight, but I don’t want to rush anything until I understand all of the changes.  The app has been temporarily pulled from the App Store (should have done this before a couple of bad reviews… oh well.  Live and learn.)

Update 3/18: I have a working version of iQueue ready.  There are still some oddities, and I haven’t heard back from Netflix today.  The reordering of the instant queue doesn’t work (which I don’t think is a huge deal).  There are also some issues with adding DVDs.  Basically, the Netflix servers don’t want to acknowledge that DVDs are available.  I think I’ve worked around it, but if I didn’t know any better, I would almost think Netflix didn’t want you do queue DVDs .

On a side note, this will give me a chance to push the color scheme changes:

Late Night Update (3/18): I’ve submitted fixes for both iQueue and iQueue Free.  The ability to sort the instant queue is temporarily disabled and the adding a movie to both DVD and instant queues doesn’t seem to be an option anymore (thanks Netflix).  However, it shouldn’t crash.  No idea when it will show up in the store.  Typically it takes a week.  I’ll ask to get it expedited, but that may or may not help.

 

5 Responses to “iQueue is down (updated)”


  1. 1 Michael
    March 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Great app hope you get it fixed

  2. 2 Ron
    March 18, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Take your time, and make sure the fix works. I sympathise with your frustrations with Netflix. The product they offer is very good; they have the other distributors jealous as h***, but Netflix is aleady showing behaviour typical of monopolies. Netflix should really keep the programming community informed about changes in their API and the like.

    iQueue is a great product and I only wish there had been some notice about iQueue problems on the iTunes Store, so I would not have wasted so much time uninstalling and reinstalling, and so I would not have had to do a Google search to find your site. But all things considered you have an impressive app and I hope that it can be brought back up again. If it would help you can ask your users to send e-mails and phone calls to Netflix insisting that they cooperate with their external apps programmers. After all, iTouch app only handles Instant Queue, not the DVD queue, so there is no reason for them to protect their app by making undocumented changes.

    Best wishes,

    A PC user since DOS 3.1

  3. 3 elaydin
    March 19, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Thanks for the kind words Ron and Michael. I really appreciate it.

  4. 4 Charles
    March 19, 2011 at 8:02 am

    Shame Netflix is taking the Facebook philosophy. Wish I didn’t have to test all my code religiously before a release. Keep up the good work mate, we all enjoy your product and hope everything gets resolved soon.

  5. 5 Catherine
    March 20, 2011 at 11:19 pm

    I love your app. I’d be happy to hassle Netflix about this issue. I did an update of all my apps today and it hasn’t worked since. It seemed to mr that it worked fine until I did the update today but from the sounds of it there was a problem before that and I wasn’t aware. Anyway, hope you find a fix. Such a hassle to have to get onto the computer to queue up DVD’s.


Leave a Reply

