08
Apr
11

List of current Netflix API issues

This is getting a little tiresome.

Here are the issue I am currently aware of:

  1. Netflix isn’t redirecting to the proper web page after authentication.  As result, you’ll see something like a “redirect” error after first logging in.  This is ok for iQueue, though it might affect some other Netflix related apps and web sites.  (update 4/13:  sounds lie Netflix is on this one)
  2. reordering the instant queue isn’t working.  It broke a few weeks ago, so I removed the feature.  It started working again, only to stop working yesterday (update:  seems to be working on 4/13).
  3. This one is annoying, but I might have to live with it:  Doing anything to a queue now takes about 30 seconds.  It used to take maybe a couple of seconds.  This is especially annoying when adding a movie, and not seeing it on the queue right away.  I’m trying to figure out how to keep the local copy of the queue in sync with Netflix, without refreshing Netflix’ copy like I currently do. (update:  this only seems to be problem with the DVD queue.  For now, just give any DVD adds and moves time to “settle”)
  4. I’m hoping this is just temporary, but I don’t seem to be able to add a movie to the DVD queue (!!!!).  Netflix tells me it worked, but nothing shows up (it even tells me it’s in my queue if I add it later).  It’s odd that adding to the instant queue seems to work. *sigh*  (update:  turns out it just took a REALLY long time that particular instance)
4 Responses to “List of current Netflix API issues”


  1. 1 Julio Reguero
    April 27, 2011 at 4:38 pm

    Although I’m aware of different issues in the Netflix API, my mobile application (currently under development) is particularly being affected by the first one on your list. All these inconsistencies have been reported on the Netflix Developer Forum and should be fixed soon, but they keep pushing back the release date for different reasons.

    • 2 elaydin
      April 27, 2011 at 5:41 pm

      I’ve discovered times where #1 seems to affect iQueue as well (depends on how the bad url is reported back to the program). I haven’t bothered keeping this list up to date. Seems like an impossible task.

  2. 3 Mike M
    July 9, 2011 at 1:13 am

    Why can’t I use the “Move to top of queue” button in the Watch Instantly list?

    • 4 elaydin
      July 9, 2011 at 9:28 am

      Moving movies in the instant queue is a little problematic. Specifically, TV Series can’t be moved anywhere but the bottom. You can still move movies around manually, I just disabled the “Move to Top” button.


Leave a Reply

